Pequot Library

Bringing Literature, Music, Art, Science &
the Humanities to our Community

Award Winners

Alex Awards
The Alex Awards are given annually to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to Teens.

William C. Morris Award
The Morris Award honors a book written for young adults by a first-time, previously unpublished author. The first award was given in 2009.

Michael L. Printz Award
This award honors excellence in literature written for young adults.

Teen Nutmegs
The Nutmeg Book Award encourages children and teens  to read quality literature and to choose their favorite from a list of  nominated titles. Jointly sponsored by the Connecticut Library Association (CLA) and the Connecticut Association of School Librarians (CASL), the Nutmeg Committee is comprised of children's librarians and school library media specialists who are members of our sponsoring organizations.